General Information about Bulgaria

General Information about Bulgaria


Bulgaria is situated in Southeast Europe and occupies the eastern part of the Balkan Peninsula.

To the north it borders on Romania, to the west on the Republic of Macedonia and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, to the east on the Black Sea, to the south on Greece and to the southeast on Turkey's European part.

Area: 111.000 sq km.


Extremely varied: large plains and lowlands, low and high mountains, valleys and lovely gorges.


Temperate continental with clearly marked four seasons.

A Mediterranean influence is felt in the country's southern regions.

The average annual temperature is 10.5°C.

The average January temperature is around O°C.

Average summer temperatures rarely exceed 30°C.





English, German, French and Russian is spoken in the country's resorts, hotels and restaurants.


Cyrillic. Signs along international motorways, in airports and resorts are also spelled in Roman letters.


86.6% of the population is Eastern Orthodox, 13% are Muslims. The Bulgarian Church is autonomous and headed by a Patriarch.

State government

Bulgaria is a parliamentary republic.

Official holidays

  • January 1 - New Year
  • March 3 - Bulgaria's Liberation from Ottoman rule - the National Day
  • Easter - one week after the Catholic Easter
  • May 1 - Labour Day
  • May 6 - Bulgarian Army Day
  • May 24 - Day of Bulgarian Enlightenment and Culture and the Slav Script
  • September 6 - Bulgaria's Unification
  • September 22 - Independance Day
  • December 25-26 - Christmas


Sofia (pop. 1,141,000)

Large Cities

Plovdiv, Varna, Veliko Turnovo

Views: 399

This is User Generated Content! In case if you found current post offensinve, please report a violation.

Additional Articles:

Comments related to General Information about Bulgaria: